Christmas Book Flood | Recommending reading

Arnaldur Indriðason

About the author

Arnaldur Indridson

Arnaldur Indriðason was born in Reykjavik on 28 January 1961, the son of fellow Icelandic writer; Indriði G Thorsteinsson. Indriðason graduated with a degree in History from the University of Iceland in 1996.

As part of his degree, he wrote a dissertation on Icelandic films, which helped Indriðason to land a job writing on film for Morgunbladid, the biggest newspaper in the country. During this period he edited two reference books on Icelandic cinema.

He worked for many years as a journalist and critic before he began writing novels. His books have since sold over 10 million copies worldwide. During the summer of 2003, in one week his crime novels occupied the top five spots in the Icelandic bestseller list. In 2004, Indriðason’s books made up seven of the 10 most borrowed from the Reykjavik library.

Outside Iceland, he is best known for his crime novels featuring Detective Erlendur and Sigurdur Óli, which are consistent bestsellers across Europe. The series has won numerous awards, including the Nordic Glass Key (for Jar City and for Silence of the Grave) and the CWA Gold Dagger (for Silence of the Grave).

As of 2019, the series included 14 novels: his Detective Erlendur titles Sons of Dust and Silent Kill have yet to be translated into English. Arnaldur’s books have been published in 26 countries and translated into at least 24 languages. He says that his aim is a simple one: he ‘wants to really understand Erlendur’.

Arnaldur lives in Reykjavik with his wife and three children.


Detective Erlendur series

Jar City (translated by Bernard Scudder) – winner: Glass Key Award

Silence of the Grave (translated by Bernard Scudder) – winner: CWA Gold Dagger Award | winner: Glass Key Award

Voices (translated by Bernard Scudder)

The Draining Lake (translated by Bernard Scudder)

Arctic Chill (translated by Bernard Scudder and Victoria Cribb)

Hypothermia (translated by Victoria Cribb)

Outrage (translated by Anna Yates)

Black Skies (translated by Victoria Cribb)

Strange Shores (translated by Victoria Cribb) – nominated: CWA Gold Dagger Award

Young Erlendur series

Reykjavik Nights (translated by Victoria Cribb) – nominated: Petrona Award

Oblivion (translated by Victoria Cribb)

Flóvent and Thorson series

The Shadow District (translated by Victoria Cribb) – longlisted: CWA International Dagger Award | winner: RBA Prize for Crime Writing (Spain)

The Shadow Killer (translated by Victoria Cribb)

Stand-alone novels

Operation Napoleon  (translated by Victoria Cribb)


UK: Vintage

VINTAGE; new For further information and interview requests please contact Rosanna Boscawen:

USA: MacmillanSt.-Martins-PRESS

Arnaldur Indriðason’s books are published by Minotaur Books in hardback and Picador in paperback.

For specific review copy or author interview queries, contact the imprint’s publicity inbox directly:

Rights news

In 2006, Jar City was released as a well-received Icelandic feature film directed by Balthasar Kormákur and starring Ingvar Eggert Sigurdsson (as Detective Erlendur), Ágústa Eva Erlendsdóttir and Björn Hlynur Haraldsson. 

In 2008 Arnaldur co-wrote the screenplay for the Icelandic feature film Reykjavík-Rotterdamdirected by Óskar Jónasson and starring Balthasar Kormákur, Ingvar Eggert Sigurdsson and Lilja Nótt Thórarinsdóttir. 

Both Icelandic films won many Eddas (Iceland’s national film awards).

Reykjavík-Rotterdam was remade in 2012 as a successful Hollywood movie called Contraband, directed by Balthasar Kormákur and starring Mark Wahlberg, Giovanni Ribisi and Kate Beckinsale.